IFTAS co-host Laura Whitmore Image Name: IFTAS co-host Laura Whitmore
IFTAS Simon Delaney cohost of the 11th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards Image Name: IFTAS Simon Delaney cohost of the 11th Annual Irish Film & Television Awards Description: SIMON DELANEY HOST OF THE 8TH ANNUAL IRISH FILM & TELEVISION AWARDS

With a new venue, new format and great new hosting duo, the 11th annual Irish Film and Television Awards will take place on Saturday 5th April at the DoubleTree by Hilton, Burlington Road. The gala IFTA Awards ceremony will be broadcast that evening on RTÉ One,

Seasoned Irish Film and Television Awards host Simon Delaney will this year be joined by co-host Laura Whitmore. The Irish Film & Television Awards will showcase the highest standards of Irish talent seen on screen in the past twelve months and, each year this uniquely Irish event, attracts some of Ireland’s finest talents both in front of and behind the scenes.

In the acting categories, nominees this year include Brendan Gleeson (Calvary), Domhnall Gleeson (About Time), Andrew Scott (The Stag), Antonia Campbell-Hughes (3096 Days), Saoirse Ronan (Byzantium), Colin Farrell (Saving Mr. Banks), Michael Fassbender (12 Years A Slave), Amy Huberman (The Stag), Jamie Dornan (The Fall) and Deirdre O’Kane (Moone Boy). With past IFTA Awards Ceremonies attracting special guests including John C Reilly, Kim Cattral, Jon Voight, Juliette Binoche, Josh Hartnett, Rene Russo, Mischa Barton and Andie MacDowell, there is sure to be a dazzling array of Irish and International stars on the night.

In the popular TV Drama categories Dublin crime drama ‘Love/Hate’ is nominated for eight IFTA awards, Game of Thrones is nominated for five IFTA awards, with other nominations for leading  RTÉ dramas ‘Quirke’, ‘The Fall’ and ‘Vikings’. The television genre categories see ‘Moone Boy’, ‘Mrs. Browns Boy’s’, ‘The Great Irish Bake Off’, ‘Operation Transformation’ and ‘Nationwide’ included in the tight race to bring home IFTA statuettes.

In the film categories, Neil Jordan’s ‘Byzantium’, John Michael McDonagh’s ‘Calvary’, Steph Greene’s ‘Run & Jump’, Stephen Brown ‘The Sea’, John Butler’s ‘The Stag’ and Ruari Robinson’s ‘The Last Days On Mars’ are nominated for IFTAs. While ’12 Years A Slave’, ‘Gravity’, ‘Philomena’ and ‘The Wolf of Wall Street’ will vie for the title of Best International Film with actors Chiwetel Ejiofor, Leonardo DiCaprio, Michael Douglas, Matthew McConaughey, Amy Adams, Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock and Judi Dench nominated for International Actor and Actress IFTAs.