Niamh Farrell Image Name: Niamh Farrell
Niamh Farrell Image Name: Niamh Farrell
Eoghan McDermott Image Name: Eoghan McDermott Description: Eoghan McDermott
Meteor Choice Music Prize Logo Image Name: Meteor Choice Music Prize Logo

The Voice‘s Eoghan McDermott and Niamh Farrell from Irish Indie band Ham Sandwich present highlights from the Meteor Choice Music Prize live event in Vicar Street.

Watch live performances from, Girls Names, Little Green Cars, Mano Le Tough, O Emperor, Lisa O’ Neill, Villagers and Bell X1. Eoghan and Niamh will present pre-recorded VT’s from all the nominees, plus exlusive interviews on the night and coverage of the final award presentation, when one of ten acts will win this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize.

This is the first time RTÉ TWO has broadcast a highlights show of the awards show.

The 9th annual Meteor Choice Music Prize will once again celebrate and acknowledge the best in Irish recorded music. The prize has become one of the highlights of the Irish music calendar since its inception in 2005 and is awarded to the Irish Album of the Year, as chosen from a shortlist of ten releases by a panel of eleven Irish music media professionals and industry experts.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2013, in association with IMRO and IRMA, was announced in January. The overall winning Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Meteor Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on Thursday, February 27th 2013.

The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):

And So I Watch You From AfarAll Hail Bright Futures (Sargent House)
Bell X1Chop Chop (Belly Up Records)
Girls NamesThe New Life (Tough Love)
KodalineIn A Perfect World (Sony Music)
Little Green CarsAbsolute Zero (Universal Music)
Mano Le ToughChanging Days (Permanent Vacation)
My Bloody ValentineMBV (MBV Records)
O EmperorVitreous (Big Skin)
Lisa O’ NeillSame Cloth or Not (Song Seeds Records)
Villagers{Awayland} (Domino)

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of IMRO and IRMA. Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of key overseas delegates at the event while RAAP and Music Week are also official project partners.

RTÉ TWO, Sunday 2 March, 2014 10.25pm