Niall Carroll close up 2009 resized Image Name: Niall Carroll close up 2009 resized

Niall Carroll presents a sample of the new season as the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra  explores the theme of storytelling in music – a sneak preview of what’s to come in the RTÉNSO  season of concerts from September 2013 through to May 2014

Khachaturian: Sabre Dance
Bizet: Carmen Suite: March of the Toreadors
Tchaikovsky: Sleeping Beauty: Waltz
Humperdinck: Hansel and Gretel: Witch’s Ride
Saint-Saens: Danse Macabre
Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night’s Dream: Scherzo
Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kije Suite: Troika
Britten: 4 Sea Interludes: Storm
Mussorgsky: Night on Bare Mountain
Massenet: Thais: Meditation
Falla: Final Danse: Jota
Copland: Variations on a Shaker Melody
Strauss II: Emperor Waltz
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Robert Houlihan (conductor)

RTÉ lyric fm, Friday 6September, 8pm-10pm