Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire Image Name: Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire
Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire Image Name: Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire

The RTÉ Two New Comedy Awards is a nationwide talent search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent in the country.

Over five weeks, 25 of the best new emerging stand-up acts in Ireland perform in The Sugar Club, Dublin for a place in the final, hoping to be crowned the king or queen of the RTÉ Two New Comedy Awards. The winner will receive the trophy as well as a prize of €5,000. A judging panel of industry professionals* will choose the winner.

The show is hosted by RTÉ Two’s Republic of Telly stars Jennifer Maguire and Bernard O’Shea.

Episode 2 will feature:

Tom ‘The Bear’ O’Mahony – “Ireland’s only ex-cage fighter comedian”.

Anna Ryan – Described as ‘prematurely sarcastic’ by her teacher in senior infants.

Trevor Browne – ‘ Trevor Browne is a velour wearing, whiskey drinking, woman loving genius. If you doubt him, he will kill you.’

Foil, Arms & Hog –  ‘The famed creators of bovine orthopedic shoes’.

Ross Browne –  Fast-paced high-energy belly-laugh-delivering Cork man.

Viewers of the New Comedy Awards 2013 can vote for their favourite comedian online. The comedian with the most votes at the end of the series will enter the final along with the judge’s picks from the series.

Vote online from 30 April at

Twitter: #newcomedyawards

*The judging panel comprises: Eddie Doyle – Commissioning Editor, RTÉ Two; Seamus Cassidy – Happy Endings executive producer and ex-Channel 4 Senior Commissioning Editor (Father Ted, Jack Dee, Whose Line Is It Anyway); Mary Kennedy – owner of Platform Events, industry expert and developer of the new comedy awards concept.

The series is produced for RTÉ by Tusk Productions.