Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire Image Name: Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire
Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire Image Name: Bernard O'Shea and Jennifer Maguire

The RTÉ Two New Comedy Awards is a nationwide talent search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent in the country.

Over five weeks, 25 of the best new emerging stand-up acts in Ireland perform in The Sugar Club, Dublin for a place in the final, hoping to be crowned the king or queen of the RTÉ Two New Comedy Awards. The winner will receive the trophy as well as a prize of €5,000.

The show will be hosted by RTÉ Two’s Republic of Telly stars Jennifer Maguire and Bernard O’Shea.

Styles of comedy range from the geeky Sean Nolan’s hilarious non-sequential one-liners to Foil, Arms and Hog’s Gaelic Flirt Chat Line sketch-type act and brand newcomer Anna Ryan’s cynical advice to new parents.

A judging panel of industry professionals will choose the winner.

Episode 1 will feature:

Edwin Sammon – ‘Nice guys don’t punch kittens in the face’

Aidan Bishop – Best known as the resident MC of the International Comedy Club, Dublin

Andréa Farrell –  ‘If I was a super hero I’d be Super Sound Friend Girl.’

Totally Wired –  ‘Ireland’s oldest & least successful boy band’

Rory O’ Hanlon –  ‘A joke every 30 seconds’

Viewers of the New Comedy Awards 2013 can vote for their favorite comedian online. The comedian with the most votes at the end of the series will enter the final along with the judge’s picks from the series.

Vote online from 30 April at www.rte/

Twitter: #newcomedyawards

*The judging panel comprises: Eddie Doyle – Commissioning Editor, RTÉ Two; Seamus Cassidy – Happy Endings executive producer and ex-Channel 4 Senior Commissioning Editor (Father Ted, Jack Dee, Whose Line Is It Anyway); Mary Kennedy – owner of Platform Events, industry expert and developer of the new comedy awards concept.

The series is produced for RTÉ by Tusk Productions.