2005 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Ernst and Young Image Name: Ernst and Young Description: 2005 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Copyright: ©.  This image may be reproduced in print or electronic format forpromotional purposes only.

RTÉ Television will bring you live coverage of the awards ceremony to announce the winner of the 2005 Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year competition.
It will be broadcast live from Dublin’s City West Hotel on Thursday, 29th September 2005 and will be presented by Shane Kenny.

This year’s shortlist of 24 finalists was decided after the panel of 12 judges reviewed entries from a range of businesses and individuals across the island of Ireland.

 Nominees, from the pharmaceutical, hospitality, food & drink, manufacturing and agri-business industries, are divided into three categories, International, Industry and Emerging.

A winner will be announced in each of the three categories, but only one entrepreneur can win the coveted title of Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year. 

Given the success previous winners such as Denis O’Brien, Padraig O’Ceidigh, Moya Doherty and John McColgan, have achieved, Ireland’s business community will be awaiting this year’s announcement with great anticipation.

In the run up to the award night, RTÉ One will screen three-prequel shows, which will profile the finalists in each of the three categories.  (Sept 8th, 15th and 22nd)
The series will culminate with the live broadcast of the award ceremony from City West Hotel on Thursday 29th September 2005.

The following is a list of nominees who will be profiled in each of RTÉ’s programmes:

International Category (Sept 8th)
            Gerard Brandon, Alltracel Pharmaceuticals Plc
            Kevin Neville, Data Display Co. Ltd
            Tony McEnroe, Farran Technology Ltd.
            Hubert Watson, Fintec
            John Concannon, JFC Manufacturing Co. Ltd.
            Gerard Keenan, Keenan System
            Sarah Newman and Andrew Collins, Needahotel.com
            Aidan Heavey, Tullow Oil Plc

Industry Category (Sept 15th)
            Frankie Whelehan, Choice Hotels Ireland
            Michael Carey, Jacob Fruitfield Food Group
            Sean Coyle, Keystone Group
            Paddy Callaghan, Nature’s Best Ltd.
            William Doyle, Newbridge Silverware
            Owen O’Callaghan, O’Callaghan Properties Ltd.
            Oliver Hughes & Liam LaHart, The Porterhouse Brewing Company
            William Wright, Wrightbus Ltd.

Emerging Category (Sept 22nd)
            Gregory J. Turley, ETrawler (ArgusCarHire.com)
            Andrew Walsh & Craig Benton, Celtic Composting Systems Ltd.
            Donal Byrne, Corvil Networks
            Brian Conlon, First Derivatives Plc
            Brian Baird, Meridio
            Ann-Marie Slavin, OPT2VOTE
            Colm Lyon, Realex Payments
            Jerry Kennelly, Stockbyte

The 12 members of the judging panel are:
            Denis O’Brien, Digicel Group (Chair)
            Brian Long, Atlantic Bridge Ventures
            Pat Maher, Enterprise Ireland
            Liam Nellis, InterTradeIreland
            Liam Shanahan, Shanahan Engineering Ltd.
            Gerard McCaughey, Century Homes
            Terri Scott, Invest Northern Ireland
            Pat McDonagh, Riverdeep
            Padraigh O’Ceidigh, Aer Arann Express
            Mary Martin, AGI Therapeutics Ltd.
            Peter Fitzgerald, Randox Laboratories Ltd.
            Kevin Thompstone, Shannon Development

The overall winner of the awards propgramme will go on to represent Ireland in Monte Carlo at  the World Entrepreneur Of The Year ® in May 2006, where other winners from each of the 40 countries, across six continents, will compete for the worldwide title.

Now  in  its eighth year in Ireland, the Awards Programme aims to identify, salute  and  support  the  Irish  business  people  whose vision, drive and dedication  have singled Ireland out as having one of the highest levels of entrepreneurial activity in the world.

For Further information contact
Hilary Copeland at Ernst & Young
Tel: 01 221 2732 – hilary.copeland@ie.ey.com